Current Date:

Friday, 14 December 2018

Assessment Mission on Tobacco Control in Khartoum

Khartoum - Federal Ministry of Health in collaboration with World Health Organization and WHO Framework Convention

on Tobacco Control Secretariat are organizing a joint Needs Assessment mission in the period from 19 to 22 March 2018, in Khartoum for the implementation of the of the WHO framework convention on tobacco control (WHO FCTC). WHO Representative in Sudan, Dr. Naeema Al Gasseer told Sudan Vision that the mission objectives are to verify and discuss the collected information regarding the status of the implementation of the WHO FCTC with the national team ,and to identify gaps and possible barriers in the implementation of the convention , besides , discussing and identifying priority areas of work and a timeline for developing a program /project proposal for financial assistance for submission to development partners and other funding sources , and to provide a summary of main findings and an outline of recommendations to the Party. Al Gasseer stated that the International team FCTC Secretariat , Dr Carmen Audera .Dr. Elfatih AbdelraheemTeam Leader; HIV Health and Development (Arab States) and UNDP Regional Hub in Istanbul Dr. Fatima Alawa WHO- EMRO Regional Advisor- Tobacco control Dr. Aya Mustafa Associate Professor of Public Health and Epidemiology – Egypt will participated in the meeting and from the national team, Sanaa Abdulaziz WHO ,besides ,Sudan Office Tobacco Focal point Sara Almalik Ahmed FMOH Tobacco focal point It is worth noting that the World Health Organization Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (WHO FCTC) is a treaty adopted by the 56th World Health Assembly held in Geneva, Switzerland on 21 May 2003. It became the first treaty adopted under article 19 of the WHO constitution. The treaty came into force on 27 February 2005. It had been signed by 168 countries and is legally binding in 181 countries. There are currently 15 that are non-parties to the treaty (nine which have not signed and six of which have signed but not ratified).